## Presidents Annual Report 2020 – 2021

I will preface this report by stating the obvious, this full reporting period has been deeply impacted by Covid. We, the board, are optimistic that there is light at the end of the tunnel and soon we all will once again be able to share in live theatre.

## **Artistic:**

First and foremost, I would like to express my sincere appreciation to our artistic committee. They are; Julia Body, Frank Manning, Gloria Cox and Ali Balloun. Collectively this group has strived to provide guidance to the board on creative productions and methods of presentation. It was their hard work that resulted in Walkabout theatre in August of 2020, and a full slate of productions for the coming season.

The next group I would like to recognize is the Theatre on the Edge (Tote) committee. They are; Althea Mongerson, Ann Skelhorne and Marcus Smith. This group spent hundreds of hours taking Tote to a new level during very trying times. Their efforts brought talent to the virtual festival from across Canada, parts of the U.S. and Ireland. I am excited to witness what they will accomplish at Tote 2022.

Recently the theatre was recognized by Theatre B.C. for the following Pivot awards:

Tote was recognized for – Most fun and innovative introduction video.

Shuswap Theatre was recognized for – Most innovative theatre performance season and most entertaining Pivot presentation.

The Board and Artistic Committee have recently announced a full slate of productions for the coming year, covid restrictions permitting, we look forward to again performing live to our patrons.

## **Building:**

Over this past year, with ongoing support from Pro Air Heating and Cooling, we have continued with replacing the HVAC system throughout the theatre. Pro Air is a long time supporter of Shuswap Theatre and has been extremally generous during this expensive retrofit.

## **Administration:**

This year's board was the first with staggered terms. The Board terms for Alex Delaney, Howard deLong, Mary Fabian, Heather Stefanek and Kim MacMillan are expiring this year, we are very pleased that four of the five have decided to remain on the board. We are very sad to announce that Kim MacMillan will be stepping away. Kim has been involved with Shuswap Theatre for 30 plus years and has been a member of the board for 15 years. Kim's passion for theatre both on and off stage have been instrumental in the quality of entertainment provided and the building in which the craft is performed.

In the coming months the board will begin refurbishing the front of the building. The committee overseeing the renovation are currently working on overall designs. This will be a significant project which will be undertaken with the assistance of volunteers and paid professionals.

We continue to look for new volunteers within all departments. I would encourage any of our members to get involved whether it be on stage or behind the scenes. Cast and crew from previous seasons have reported that being a part of a theatrical production has been one of the best experiences of their life. Ours is a community theatre which is made possible by the support of a large group of volunteers who bring a vast array of skills which include mentoring and assisting newcomers whenever and wherever possible.

Susan MacMillan continues to keep The Prompter and our Facebook page up to date, we really appreciate Susan's efforts to keep our patrons updated on new performances and undertakings at the theatre.

Last but not least, I would like to extend a heartfelt thank you to the dedicated people of the board for their ongoing efforts to provide quality live theatre to our valued patrons, they are; Nedine Scott, Sherry Bowlby, Julia Body, Peter Molnar, Heather Stefanek, Mary Fabian, Alex Delaney, Howard deLong and Kim MacMillan.

In closing, we remain dedicated to providing engaging live theatre to our valued patrons, we will do so just as soon as possible. In the interim we wish everyone good health and much happiness.

We remain, theatrically yours.

Craig Massey

Shuswap Theatre Board of Directors