Shuswap Theatre Society – Annual General Meeting Minutes September 26, 2022 - 7:00 pm, Salmon Arm, BC

In attendance:

Craig Massey, Nedine Scott, Sherry Bowlby, Heather Stefanek, Howard DeLong, Ann Skelhorne, Julia Body, Peter Molnar, Kim MacMillan, Mary Fabian, Mitch Stefanek, Joyce Henderson, John Henderson, Susan MacMillan, Cilla Budda, Melissa Wood, James Bowlby, Laura Demulder, Teresa McKerral, Pauline Waelti, Judith Skelhorne, Jake Jacobson, Patrick Benson, Meredith Rusk.

Regrets: Alex Delaney

Call to order - 7:10 pm

Land Acknowledgement

Shuswap Theatre acknowledges that its theatre and activities held within it are carried out on the traditional territory of the Secwepemc People. We are grateful and pay respect to the elders, past and present, descendants and custodians of these lands.

1. Agenda:

Motion by Teresa McKerral, seconded by Heather Stefanek, that the agenda be approved. Carried.

2. Minutes:

The September 21, 2021 minutes of the annual General Meeting were previously approved by the Board and shared on-line. No motion was required at this time.

3. Year End Financial Statements:

- a) Treasurer's Report as in the Annual Report for 2021-22
- b) Motion by Sherry Bowlby, seconded by Peter Molnar, that the Treasurer's Report be accepted as written.

4. Annual Reports:

The reports below were available on-line for viewing prior to the meeting. Paper copies of the Annual Report were available at this meeting.

- a) President
- b) Artistic Committee
- c) Technical Director
- d) Box Office
- e) Building Management, Rentals and Costumes

- f) Front of House
- g) Funding and Sponsorship
- h) Laughing Gas Improv
- i) Marketing and Publicity
- j) Membership
- k) Musical Youth Summer Theatre (MYST)
- I) Operation Facelift
- m) O-Zone and Mainstage
- n) Scene Shop
- o) Theatre on The Edge (TOTE) Artistic Director, Executive Director, Marketing
- p) Website

Motion by Patrick Benson, seconded by Craig Massey, that the annual reports be accepted as written.

5. Motion that Bylaws of the Shuswap Theatre Society be amended as follows:

ARTICLE 1 - MEMBERSHIP.

Membership

- 1. The Board of Directors (Board) may establish categories of membership in addition to the following:
 - a) Individual membership
 - b) Life membership
 - c) Group membership REMOVE and REPLACE WITH: Non-voting group membership
- 2. Any person or group may apply for membership if they support the goals of the Society, complete the Society's application form and pay the membership fee.
- 3. Minors (under 19 years) may apply for membership.
- 4. The Board may recommend changes to membership fees for ratification at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).
- 5. The Board will establish when any membership fees are due.

Voting

- 1. Each individual or group member will have one vote. **REMOVE and REPLACE WITH:** Each individual will have one vote.
- 2. No person shall have more than one vote.
- 3. No proxy votes will be accepted.

Motion by James Bowlby, seconded by Mitch Stefanek, that Bylaw, Article 1 – Membership, be amended, as above. Carried.

6. Nominating Committee Report (Joyce Henderson):

Election of Directors

Craig Massey, Julia Body, and Alex Delaney will be leaving the Board.

Motion by Joyce Henderson, seconded by Teresa McKerral, that Sherry Bowlby be acclaimed as a Board member for a one-year term, and that Peter Molnar, Nedine Scott, Winston Lee-Hai, Laura Demulder, and Meredith Rusk be acclaimed as Board members for two-year terms. Carried.

7. Open discussion on the 2022/2023 season:

- The upcoming season was announced.
- Howard DeLong provided an update about Operation Facelift, which is the fundraising campaign supporting the spring/fall 2023 upgrades to the front façade of the theatre.

Motion to adjourn by Teresa McKerral, seconded by Kim MacMillan. Carried.

Meeting adjourned at 7:37 pm

Minutes recorded by Mary Fabian