Minutes of Shuswap Theatre Society Annual General Meeting Wednesday, September 26, 2018 at 7:00 pm

The meeting was called to order by Kim MacMillan at 7:10. Present were Sherry Bowlby, James Bowlby, Judith Skelhorne, Lois Higgins, Susan MacMillan, Liz Kingdon, Joyce Henderson, John Henderson, Hamilton McClymont, Mitch Stefanek, Heather Stefanek, Tammi Pratty, Kim MacMillan, Craig Massey, Peter Budda, Jake Jacobson, Julia Body, Tracy Nash, Astrid Varnes, Nedine Scott. A quorum was declared.

Hamilton McClymont was appointed secretary for the meeting. (Joyce Henderson, Julia Body)

Agenda

The agenda (amended to receive rather than approve last year's minutes, and to add an opportunity for group discussion following the special resolution) was adopted (Tracy Nash, Craig Massey)

Minutes of the AGM held September 26, 2017

Minutes, approved by the Board last October, were received. (Judith Skelhorne, Tracy Nash)

Financial statements, Treasurer's Report

Sherry Bowlby, Treasurer, presented the balance sheet and income statement for the year ended June 30, 2018. She noted that this past summer's Theatre on the Edge will be accounted for in the financial statements for the year ending June 30, 2019. She also noted the establishment of the capital reserve fund.

The financial statements and the Treasurer's report were received (Mitch Stefanek, Nedine Scott)

Annual Report

The President presented the components of the annual report in groups of two or three.

President, Secretary
Artistic Committee
Membership, Publicity, Scene Shop
Technical Director, Seniors Theatre, Laughing Gas Improv
Sponsorship, Comfy Bottoms, Theatre on the Edge
Building, Rentals, Front of House, Ozone

The President, and authors of the reports responded to queries as they arose.

The Annual Report was received (Tracy Nash, Craig Massey)

Special Resolution

Hamilton McClymont presented the special resolution to affirm the Society's commitment to remain in its present home.

WHEREAS Shuswap Theatre Society owns its theatre facility at 41 Hudson Ave NW in Salmon Arm, BC free and clear, and

WHEREAS Shuswap Theatre Society values the intimacy of its theatre facility and its independence as a self-sustaining performing arts organization, and

WHEREAS Shuswap Theatre Society invests in its theatre facility to keep it a safe, comfortable and effective venue in which to present its productions of live theatre, and

WHEREAS Shuswap Theatre Society is an active contributor to and collaborator in the cultural life of the Shuswap region, and

WHEREAS Shuswap Theatre Society is a charity registered with CRA under the terms of the Income Tax Act

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT

The members of Shuswap Theatre Society affirm the following:

Shuswap Theatre Society will continue to produce most of its activities at its theatre facility for the foreseeable future.

Shuswap Theatre Society will continue to invest in the facility on both sides of the footlights to keep it safe, comfortable and an appealing performance venue for audiences and theatre workers alike.

Shuswap Theatre Society recognizes that its present facility will not last forever and continues to be vigilant of future opportunities.

Shuswap Theatre Society will continue to participate fully in the cultural life of the region.

Following discussion, the members adopted the special resolution unanimously. (Hamilton McClymont, Tracy Nash)

Dialogue

The President invited members to network and present ideas for the Board's consideration, to wit:

- Find a way to get more of the 200 members involved
- Provide more recognition of volunteers
- Doing the Christmas show with the high school is good!
- Consider a tent to cover the patio to extend the theatre's public space
- Name all donors in programs
- Hold discussion sessions following performances
- Consider identity-based programming (e.g., indigenous, women, etc., themes and playwrights)

Board and committee members responded as required.

Nominating Committee

Lois Higgins presented the report of the Nominating Committee, noting that the by-laws provide for between 5 and 10 directors, and nine people have agreed to serve;

- Kim MacMillan
- Sherry Bowlby
- Paula Shields
- Peter Molnar
- Tracy Nash
- Julia Body

- Nedine Scott
- Tammi Pretty
- Craig Massey

The foregoing were acclaimed directors for the coming year (Lois Higgins, Joyce Henderson)

Honourary Life Member

The President outlined the criteria in the Society's policies which govern the appointment of an Honourary Life Member and quoted from the letter of nomination. Noting that the Board had approved the nomination, he announced that Joyce Henderson is appointed an Honourary Life Member of the Society for her outstanding service.

Adjournment	
The President declared the meeting adjourned at 8:40 pm	
Kim MacMillan, President	Hamilton McClymont, Secretary