O-Zone Report

With Adele Kuyek taking over as President last September and assuming the Chair of the Festival this past spring we got back on track. With her at the helm and a very capable committee of Powerhouse members and myself from Shuswap, O-Zone Festival 2015 was a success, both financially and artistically, with good public turn out and interest not only in Vernon but also Salmon Arm, Kelowna and Penticton. Shuswap Theatre did quite well at the festival garnering Best Set Design, Best Set Décor, Best Props and Best Backstage Co-operation.

Kathryn Shaw-Artistic Director of Studio 58, Langara College, was our very informative and interesting adjudicator. Fred Skeleton Theatre from Kelowna took top honors. It was a challenging play for both the audience and the actors. Based on actual events and characters from the first penal colony in Australia in 1785, the accents and vernacular were hard for our Canadian ears to understand. It was the third time this group has won the O-zone Festival. It went on to Mainstage in Kamloops and won two awards, best supporting actor and a special directorial award for Rob Mason-Brown. They had worked on the dialect and delivery, making it more understandable for the audience.

At Mainstage it was announced that our very own Joy Peters had been awarded the Jessie Richardson Memorial Scholarship for post high school studies in drama. Congratulations, Joy, and good luck!

The Ozzie Award was given this year to a very deserving member of the Okanagan Zone in the person of Dave Brotsky, retired drama teacher and long-time Powerhouse Theatre member! Dave has contributed countless hours to many festivals both community and school and has inspired many young people to go into the theatre world professionally. Well-deserved honor Dave!

Despite the challenges put forth by Theatre BC our zone continues to survive and thrive. Festival in 2016 is scheduled for Oliver, which has a new Theatre and is keen to host. Shuswap is preparing to host in 2017. The Steve Heal Memorial scholarship has yet to be awarded. Due date is September 15th. The entries were to be sent to me.

Respectfully submitted, Cilla Budda